top of page

Hair update: Big chop! Products I have been loving, growing it back, and hair treatments

Hey everyone! As promised in my last post, this is my hair update. A lot has changed. I took a break from blogging pretty much the entire summer. But I'm back now, this is my second post, and I should be back to pretty much weekly posting until the end of the year. Let's get into the post, and talk about some hair!


Length and haircut:

So I decided to cut my hair last week. My hair had gotten really long during quarantine. I had been due for a trim/haircut before quarantine started, and then six more months passed.

My ends were pretty scraggly, and the bottom half of my hair was pretty dry. The from pieces of my hair were full of split ends, and were thin and damaged. When I went into the salon, I has thinking I would just cut off 1-2 inches, but then I decided to just really chop it!


So what did I ask for? I told my hairdresser that I wanted my hair to hit at around my bra strap, and I wanted some long layers in the front. I wanted to take some more length off the front to try to get rid of almost all of the damaged hair.


Am I going to grow my hair back?

I definitely think I do. Just looking at pictures for this post makes me miss my old long tresses... I am happy with my haircut, and am happy that it is super healthy now, so I am just trying to frame it in the way that attest now I know I like my hair long, and won't cut it again! I am planning to make a grow it out again series, where I will do three month updates on products, growth, and strategies. I am guessing that it will take me about 1-2 years to get back to my old length, and I want to get regular trims, and really focus on growing it our healthily, not quickly.


Current favorites: or as I like to call it, hair necessities!



Lately I have still been using my favorite R+Co bel air shampoo and conditioner duo. I have been loving my scalp exfoliator brush, which really helps to get rid of buildup (I only wash my hair once a week), reach my scalp (my thick hair girls know it's hard to actually get your fingers through all of your hair), and stimulate my scalp (aka good for hair growth!). I have also been loving my wet brush oil infused treatment and shine brushes. I have the watermelon oil and coconut oil ones. They really hydrate my hair, and are great for getting really smooth buns for ballet, as well as having boar bristles which are great for distributing your natural oils down the hair shaft.


I have also been thinking about making a hair instagram, but i'm not sure. Let me know what you guys think! I can also make an updated haircare routine for you guys, with all my favorite products and such. I am really glad to be back to blogging, and I'm trying to pace myself. I tend to go through these short bursts of blogging inspiration where I write like 10 posts in a week and a half, and then don't blog for a month (lol).

Make sure to like this post, subscribe to my mailing list, and share with your friends!


xoxo,

malia nicole


p.s. did you guys like the new software I used for the pictures in this post? I thought it was kind of fun and different!

8 views0 comments
bottom of page