top of page

Do I have wavy hair? How to bring out natural wave/curl with products you already have!

Hey guys, and welcome back to the blog! I was looking through my most recent posts, and figured out that I hadn't written a hair post in a while. To be honest, not much has been going on with my hair. I will do a hair update soon (length, new product faves, styling routine, etc.), but for today I'm going to show you how I bring out my natural wave. I definitely do have wavy/curly hair. My mom has kind of wavy hair, and some of my aunts on my dads side have super curly hair. With my normal wash day routine, the thinner more damaged front pieces of my hair always have a wave/curl, and the back dries pretty straight. But, lately I have gotten into washing my hair curly girl style. The waves don't last long, but I did once wear them for a whole week! I didn't brush them, and just added water and leave-in conditioner every day and scrunched! But normally I wear them 2-3 days before I brush them out and wear my hair pretty much natural. Anyways, if you think you might have curly/wavy hair too, one struggle can be that curl products are expensive, and there's a ton! So I'm going to show you guys my wavy hair routine with products I already have!


  1. Detangle in the shower- if you know one thing about wavy/curly hair it is that you can't brush it out! I recommend detangling in the shower with your conditioner in with a wide toothed comb or detangling brush.

  2. Scrunch your conditioner- after detangling and letting your conditioner sit for a while (I recommend 3-5 minutes) scrunch your hair from tip to root with your head upside down before rinsing out the conditioner.

  3. Use a cotton t-shirt or towel- step out of the shower, and gently scrunch some of the excess water out

  4. Apply products! You can scrunch or rake them in, but try to leave your curls as clump as possible. Here are some easy swaps to make:

leave in - just use any leave in conditioner, preferably one that is very hydrating, and has a creamier thicker consistency

curl defining jelly - One thing I like to use instead is any sea salt spray, or cream to help bring out some texture and wave in your hair

curl cream - I like to mix a think air dry cream, or styling cream with a bit of oil for a really creamy hydrating layer on your curls

gel - if you have gel, the great, use that! If not you can use and holding products, and long as it isn't too sticky (ie no extra firm sticky hairspray!). I personally tend to lean towards mousse.


5. Plop your hair! If you need a tutorial, here is a good one, all you need is another t- shirt. I would leave you hair plopped anywhere from 20 minute to overnight while you sleep.

6. Dry your hair- after plopping, you can either air dry, or diffuse it. If you are trying to cut back on heat, you can air dry, but to reaklly define your waves, i would use a diffuser.


And that's it! Thanks so much for reading, and tune back in later this week for a hair update (HINT, SOME SCISSORS WERE INVOLVED...). Make sure to like this post, subscribe to my mailing list, and share with friends to support my blog!



xoxo,

malia nicole



5 views0 comments
bottom of page