top of page

week in the life of my haircare and wash day routine + styles ✰ day 0→7 ✰

This blog post was written about 2 months ago, but I never got around to posting it. if you guys would want more of these week in the life hair videos, let me know!


Hey everyone and welcome back to the blog! Today's post is going to be another long one, because I am taking through the full week between my hair washes. When I tell people that I only wash my hair once a week, they are really shocked, and ask how I do it. The secret - there is no secret, just a lot of dry shampoo, and some greasy hair. All jokes aside, as I have mentioned in my hair growth posts, I have trained my hair overtime to produce less oil, but their is still going to be some oil production, and that is healthy and natural. A little background on my hair - I have wavy-ish natural hair (type 1b/2a), and a medium to thick amount of hair. Without further ado, let's get to it!

One thing that i would like to make note of is that You may notice that throughout the week I don;t use


✰ day 0 ✰ sunday ✰ wash day!

Finally it is the longggg awaited wash day. By this time my hair is very greasy and oily, and I usually have slept in an oil mask overnight, so that is the reason that it looks quite so oily in the before picture. In the shower today, I washed my hair with this R+Co Bel air shampoo, and then followed up with the matching conditioner, making sure to leave it soaking for 3-5 minutes, and then gently detangling with my wide toothed comb. Because I did an overnight oil mask, I skipped out on any type of hair mask or deep conditioning treatment. For more information about what products I use and recommend, you can check out my basic hair care product lineup blog post. After washing out all of the conditioner with cool/cold water to seal the hair cuticle and lock in the moisture, I will **gently** squeeze any excess water out of my hair. When I get out of the shower, I make sure that my towel doesn't even come into contact with my hair, and I instead reach for a cotton t-shirt and begin to scrunch the water out of my hair. Once most of the water is scrunched out of my hair, I will add some leave in conditioner in, but I don't brush it through my hair. I will also scrunch in a little bit of volumizing mousse, and plop my hair in a microfiber hair towel/turban. I will leave it plopped for about 1-2 hours, just so I can get some wave and definition. Then, I will take it down and let it air dry, doing my best not to touch it to prevent frizz. Once my hair is about 80 percent dry, I will put it in a loose braid until it is completely dry. Before going to bed on sunday night, I will added in some oil to my ends, and left it loosely braided overnight.




✰ day 1 ✰ monday ✰ super clean hair

When I wake up on monday, my hair is a *little* too clean for my liking, but because I end up wearing my hair up and braided late on in the week while my hair is super greasy, I feel like I need to wear my clean hair down. When I take my hair down from my braid it's pretty frizzy from being slept on, and pretty wavy, because its only day 1, and it's been enhanced by the loose braid. I will spray in some leave in conditioner, apply some oil to my ends, and scrunch my hair a bit with some volumizing mousse. I don't usually like to wear my hair completely down when I have school/am working, so today parted my hair diagonally to the side, and dutch braided that section. I then sprayed the braid with some thickening hairspray, and pulled i apart to make it super puffy. I pretty much left it like that for the first half of the day, but then it kept sort of falling into my face, so then I did another dutch braid on the other side, and connected the together, and that was my hair for day 1! Then, monday night I put my hair into overnight heatless curls, and slept like that!



✰ day 2 ✰ tuesday ✰ pretty clean hair

On day two and day three I feel like these are my favorite hair days, because I like to have a little bit of oil and grip in my hair. On day two, I woke up and took my hair out of the overnight curls, and a you can see in the picture below, it gives me some really tight waves. However, I like to brush them out so that the curls are a bit softer. I did my normal hair care (oil on the ends + leave in conditioner), and then put my hair into a messy half up half down with a striped red scrunchie leaving out little tendrils in the front.



✰ day 3 ✰ wednesday ✰ clean-ish hair

On the night of day two, I did my regular hair care, and put my hair in those same overnight curls/waves on day three. I added in a little bit of texturizing spray for some volume, and a little dry oil spray for shine. I was feeling pretty lazy, so I just decided to leave my hair curly. Typically i would add in a braid or a topknot, but I was just feeling my hair down, so I threw in some little clear baby clips in to keep my baby hair out of my face, and left it at that.



✰ day 4 ✰ thursday ✰ slightly greasy hair

You may have noticed that up until now I haven't used any dry shampoo, which for most people would not be possible. However, training my hair to produce less oil has really worked. I really don't start feeling greasy until wednesday or thursday. I like to apply my dry shampoo, so on wednesday night I added in some dry shampoo, and threw my hair into a loose braid with a scrunchie overnight. When I woke up on day four, I added in a little more dry shampoo, and some leave in. I hadn't done two tight dutch braids in a while, so I decided to go with that. This is my go to hairstyle during the school year and for working out, because it keeps everything up and out of my face. Once the braid had reached the bottom of my ear, I added in a decent amount of oil, to keep it moisturized and hydrated while i didn't have to worry about it looking greasy. Then that night I took out the braids, added in a little dry shampoo, and put it into a loose braid.



✰ day 5 ✰ friday ✰ greasy hair

By day 5, the hair is really starting to get oily, so I will usually put it up again. Today I was feeling kinda lazy again, so I added in some dry shampoo, leave in, oil, and dutch braided my hair into a ponytail. I then sprayed some texturizing spray on the braid to give it some grip while I pulled it apart. Then wrapped the ponytail into a bun, and added some dry oil spray!


✰ day 6 ✰ saturday ✰ very greasy hair

So, if i'm being totally honest, I had a pretty lazy hair day on saturday. I had 3 hours of ballet in the morning, so it wasn't until 1 pm that I could really style my hair. I know that on the outside it looks like people always have beautiful hair, and cute updos and styles, but that is not always exactly the truth. By the time I had finished ballet and getting ready, I honestly just threw my hair into a loose and messy french braid. I didn't take a picture, but here is a picture of a similar one.





0 views0 comments
bottom of page