top of page

my favorite HEATLESS CURLING METHOD method #hairhealthhacks episode 1 **new series**


Before we start, please make sure that you have read my last post addressing the current state of what is going on in our country at the moment.

Hello everyone, and welcome back to the blog! I have been away for a bit, but I will have an update post coming soon about my headspace, and life update, and my plans for the blog moving forward. But, as you can tell from the title, we have a very exciting **NEW SERIES**!! If you guys have been following my hair growth series, I have a passion for healthy hair and growing my hair, and often reference my hacks to getting my favorite styles without the damage. This new hair series will be full of heatless styles, DIY treatments, and my favorite hacks for long+strong healthy hair!

For the first installation of the series, I thought that I would start off with one of my most worn and most effective styles. I always loved to curl my hair, but the heat protectant only did so much, and it left my hair feeling brittle and dry. There is an infinite number of heatless hair curling techniques, like the infamous TikTok bathrobe curls. However, that method didn't work for me, but I adapted my method from that, and it leaves me with soft bouncy waves, and I have gotten tons of compliments, and questions about how I curled my hair and what iron I used. I also love this style, because it takes less than 5 minutes, whereas, with my thick long hair, an iron would take me 30+ minutes, and my cuts would always fall very quickly. Alright, let's get into the tutorial! I have a video above that shows each step and product that I am using.


What you will need:

  • A spray bottle to dampen hair

  • A brush or wide-toothed comb (I used a wet brush and a wide-toothed comb from Aveda)

  • Clear elastics, or anything to secure the hair

  • Sectioning clips/claw clips

  • 4 long socks (depends on hair length)

  • Hair products - I personally love to use products because I have a TON and love to play around with them. However, these are not necessary. I used a detangling leave-in conditioner, and primer, dry shampoo, hair oil, dry oil spray, and a shining polish - I know its excessive

Steps:

  1. Dampen hair until it is about 80 percent dry, or 20 percent wet. This style is a great way it's style your hair for the next day if you shower at night.

  2. Apply a smoothing detangling spray. I used the Restore Perfecting spray from living proof.

  3. Detangle hair gently with your brush or comb of choice. I used the classic wet brush detangler. You want to make sure you are very gentle, as your hair is very fragile while wet.

  4. I then added the One Prep Spray fro R+Co. This step is very unnecessary, but I love the added hold and shine.

  5. Split your hair in half, and clip up one side of your hair. The split the other half of your hair into 2 again. Clip one section up again. Then split the remaining section in half again (by now you should have 1/4 of you hair down split up into 2 sections).

  6. Then, Clip a sock on the top of your head. Place the sick tin between two pieces of har. With the piece closest to your face, twist it around the sock away from your face, and the piece closest to the back of your head around the sock towards your face.

  7. Repeat this all the way down the sock until you run out of hair. Then secure the end with a small elastic.

  8. Repeat this process with the other section, and then on the other half of your hair.

  9. Go to sleep, or let the style set for 8-10 hours!

  10. In the morning, take out the elastic, and remove the socks you will be left with fairly tight curls.

  11. This step is optional, but If you want more of a glam wave, brush out your curls for a softer fancier look.

  12. You can be done here, but I was wearing these curls for my graduation and wanted to add some (let's be honest - tons) products. I added some dry shampoo, volume spray, hair oil, dry oil spray, and some hairspray to set everything.

  13. And you're done! The curls look their best after about 1-2 hours, and fall beautifully!

I then did my makeup, and got dressed, followed by a little backyard photoshoot! I also just want to say congrats to any 2020 grads!


If you made it all the way to the end, thanks so much for reading! Let me know if you try this out, and congrats to anyone else that is graduating right now! Make sure to subscribe to my email list, and turn on notifications so you get an email every time that I post!


xoxo,

malia nicole




3 views0 comments
bottom of page